Faster… Farther…

powerwalk

Powering the baby back-pack!

I’m sitting on the couch in my living room. My (just under) two-year-old is sitting next to me playing on his iPad. He taps on a refrigerator door. It opens. There is a food item sitting on the shelf. He says what it is in almost perfect sync with the voice from the iPad. Next, he plays a game where a train car rolls up with letter blocks displaying shadowed letters that spell a word. He touches the letters and the iPad tells him their names. When all of the letters are lit up, he says the word. Again, in sync with the computer. He laughs. He moves on to a puzzle program. After the completion of each puzzle, balloons float up to the top of the screen. He pops them before they vanish.

This is why I walk. Don’t get me wrong. I have goals and desires, my bucket list. But I also have these things, the “fruit of my loins”. Three of them. And I want to be with them for a long time. They amaze and entertain me. They drag me through a full range of emotions every day. And that’s just what happens before breakfast. They are thoughtful and funny, and clever and terribly frightening. They perform cool tricks and ask the deepest questions. And each one of them are my friends… and my responsibility.

And so I walk…

I walked with my brother yesterday. He’s training for a half marathon. He’s not a big runner, but occasionally he runs a 5k or a half marathon. He was a little surprised at how strenuous our walk was. It was during training for the Samammish Half last year that I hurt my knee. As much as I am enjoying power walking (it really is fun), I really want to  run a half marathon one day. It’s in that bucket list I mentioned.

Walking fast is not as easy as it looks. When you run, you catapult yourself forward with each step. Your feet leave the ground. You fly. Even a very slow run beats a pretty quick walk. But that’s part of the challenge right? The gait. The arm swing. The rocking of the hips. Thoughtfully placing the front foot on the ground so as not to scrub too much forward momentum. Rolling smoothly. Smoothly. It’s got to be smooth. Finding the right stride, the right pace. Staying balanced. Walking fast. Focus. It’s actually awesome.

Bad week for affirmations. None. 

Great week for power walking. Saturday I did a 4.28-mile walk in 54.16. No running. 12.43 minutes per mile average pace on a hilly course. Now I want to figure out how to make my body walk sub 12-minute miles. Sustained over a 2-plus-mile course. I’ll let you know how it works out.

 

This entry was posted in Kids, Lifestyle, Personal Health and Fitness, Self-Improvement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

